CPF Bylaw Committee Report 2020 AGM

The Bylaw Committee has had a busy year having met several times via conference calls with one two-day face-to-face meeting. Our work concentrated on finalizing our last set of policies as well as reviewing National's Bylaw to ensure that both reflect the work of the Network and are applicable to the times.

National Policies have been updated and completed to ensure relevancy and alignment with our National Bylaw. These policies have been posted on our website for feedback from the Network. It is hoped that they will be used as a template for Branch policies. We are grateful to those who shared comments and suggestions. Most of the work at the Branches revolve around advocating and delivering French Second Language programs and services for our youth. Bylaws and policies provide the framework that ensures that the corporation is protected and held to a standard. Our activities and actions need to be transparent since we are accountable to our members, our funders and the general public. As leaders, these documents supply us with the information and knowledge necessary to govern and to undertake our responsibilities and roles with confidence. It is hoped that by providing these policies it will reduce the workload of both Executive Directors and Boards, as well as providing consistency across the country. As always, it is important to verify that they align with Provincial and Territorial regulations and conditions.

Our existing Bylaw was adopted at our AGM in 2016. It is a living document. Since that time, the committee has kept a record of areas where it was felt that changes or amendments were needed. These amendments are before the Voting Delegates today for approval.

I would like to thank Rena Prefontaine, Diane Tijman, and Nicole Thibault for their dedication, expertise and commitment in working to ensure that CPF's governance documents contain the information and guidance needed to ensure that our corporation remains strong.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy McKeraghan,

Chair, CPF National Bylaw Committee

.